Organisation of the Legislative Bureau of the House of Representatives

Our Staff and Organisation

The Legislative Bureau consists of a staff of 86 persons.

It is divided into 6 departments and 14 divisions, related to the committees in the House of Representatives. The organisation chart (see below) illustrates the details of our internal institutions.

Commissioner General

Deputy Commissioner General

Legislative Planning and Coordination Dept.
1st Dept.
2nd Dept.
3rd Dept.
4th Dept.
5th Dept.

Superintendent of Legislation

Legislative Planning and Coordination Dept.

Planning and Coordination Div.

—Committee on Audit and Oversight of Administration;

Committee on Rules and Administration;

Committee on Disciplinee;

Special Committee on North Korean Abductions and Other Issues;

Special Committee on Reconstruction after Great East Japan Earthquake;

Board of Oversight and Review of Specially Designated Secrets

  • Revision on Diet Law
  • Reconstruction Basic Act
  • Act on Establishment of Fukushima Nuclear Accident Independent Investigation Commission

Fundamental Legislation Div.

—Committee on Fundamental National Policies;

Special Committee on Political Ethics and Election Law;

Commission on the Constitution

  • Revision Procedure of the Constitution Act (National Referendum for Revising the Constitution Act)
  • Revision on Public Offices Election Act
  • Revision on Political Funds Control Act

1st Dept.

1st Div.

—Committee on Cabinet;

Committee on Security;

Special Committee on Okinawa and Northern Problems;

Special Committee on Consumer Affairs

  • Revision on National Holiday Act
  • Space Basic Act

2nd Div.

—Committee on Internal Affairs and Communications;

Special Committee on Regional Revitalization

  • Revision on Local Autonomy Act
  • Public Service Basic Act

2nd Dept.

1st Div.

—Committee on Judicial Affairs

  • Revision on Act on Punishment of Activities Relating to Child Prostitution and Child Pornography, and the Protection of Children
  • Revision on Court Act

2nd Div.

—Committee on Financial Affairs;

Committee on Budget

  • Revision on Income Tax Act
  • Revision on the Stock Company Development Bank of Japan Act

3rd Dept.

1st Div.

—Committee on Foreign Affairs;

Committee on Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology;

Special Committee on Promotion of Science and Technology, and Innovation

  • Sport Basic Act
  • Act on Promotion of Written Document Culture

2nd Div.

—Committee on Economy, Trade and Industry;

Committee on Environment;

Special Committee on Investigation of Nuclear Power Issues;

  • Biological Diversity Basic Act
  • Aid for Victims of Minamata Diseases Act

4th Dept.

1st Div.

—Committee on Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

  • Act on Special Measures Concerning Foot-and-Mouth Disease Preparedness
  • Tea Promotion Act

2nd Div.

—Committee on Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism;

Special Committee on Disasters

  • Tsunami Countermeasure Implementation Act
  • Ocean Basic Act
  • Tourism-based Country Promotion Act

5th Dept.

1st Div.

—Committee on Health, Labour and Welfare (Labour affairs)

  • Revision on Labour Union Act
  • Amendment to Labour Contract Bill

2nd Div.

—Committee on Health, Labour and Welfare (Health and Welfare affairs)

  • Organ Transplantation Act
  • Prevention of Abuse to the Disabled Act