Structure of the National Diet

The Diet consists of two Houses — the House of Representatives and the House of Councillors; each House is composed of elected Members, who represent all the people.
Each House has plenary sittings and committees. In addition, each House has a Commission on the Constitution, a Board of Oversight and Review of Specially Designated Secrets, and a Deliberative Council on Political Ethics.
The Diet as a whole also has the Judge Indictment Committee to institute removal proceedings against judges and the Judge Impeachment Court to try those judges.

Structure of the National Diet

Comparison of the Membership of the Two Houses
House of Representatives   House of Councillors
465 Number of members 248
4 years
(Membership ends with the dissolution of the House)
Term of office 6 years
(with half of the Members elected every third year)
Citizens 18 years of age or older Right to vote Citizens 18 years of age or older
Citizens 25 years of age or older Right to stand for office Citizens 30 years of age or older
Single-seat constituency: 289
Proportional representation: 176
Constituency Plural-seat prefectural constituency: 148
Proportional representation: 100
Possible Dissolution Not possible

The House of Representatives
1-7-1 Nagatacho, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 100-0014, Japan


Copyright © Shugiin All Rights Reserved.